Archives introduce themselves – The Berlin-Brandenburg Economic Archive

By Archivportal-D

Since 2004, the Berlin-Brandenburgische Wirtschaftsarchiv e.V. (BBWA) has been one of the ten German Regional Economic Archives that operate across companies and industries. The Regional Business Archives are - in addition to the historical archives in some companies - among the important repositories for the economic development history of the respective region. Smaller and medium-sized companies and institutions usually do not have their own archives, but use the Regional Economic Archives as a collective archive. Complementary to the public archives, the BBWA in the Berlin-Brandenburg region thus makes its supplementary contribution to the preservation of the region's overall cultural memory and is unique in Germany with its focus on two federal states. In Berlin and the surrounding area, the BBWA advises companies, associations, industrial-cultural institutions and business institutions on setting up and maintaining their own archives and also takes on the task of setting up and maintaining them under its own roof.

The total holdings of the BBWA include more than 170 holdings with private-sector archive and collection material from companies, associations and economic institutions as well as estates of business personalities from the states of Berlin and Brandenburg. The scope of the holdings extends not only to the history of the impressive regional economic development with its industries, companies and industrial culture, but also to sources for social, regional or technical history, investigations into infrastructure or traffic development, inventions and product innovations, advertising, façade design, product design, in-house social benefits, sponsoring and donations, environmental protection and occupational safety, work and leisure activities - the list is long. This source material is prepared for use by the public, for research, and for cultural and educational purposes. Creative potential is also drawn from the archive records for the company's own projects and collaborations, and evaluated for podcasts, industrial walks, school collaborations, industrial culture evenings and much more.

Gebäudeansicht des BBWA
Gebäudeansicht des BBWA
BBWA/B. Berghausen (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

(Almost) all of the BBWA's holdings can be searched online at Findbuch.net. The most important holdings are the membership files of the Berlin Chamber of Industry and Commerce, the Berlin Chamber of Crafts, and the Berlin Stock Exchange, the archive of Berlin city estates, the Flick research archive, the Holzmann picture archive, and the Circus Busch archive. With almost 85,000 records, the BBWA is represented on the public platform Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB).

Bestandsübersicht des Berlin-Brandenburgisches Wirtschaftsarchiv im Archivportal-D.

Usage:

The archival records can be used in the reading room by appointment.

Homepage
The Archivspiegel
The BBWA on Facebook
The Berlin-Brandenburg Economic Archive (findbuch.net)

Kontakt:

Björn Berghausen

Berlin-Brandenburgisches Wirtschaftsarchiv e.V.

Eichborndamm 167, Haus 42
13403 Berlin


 

E-Mail: mail [at] bb-wa.de (mail[at]bb-wa[dot]de)
Tel.: 030 411 90 698
Fax: 030 411 90 699

 

 

 

Loading...

Direkt zum Inhalt

Archive stellen sich vor - Das Berlin-Brandenburgische Wirtschaftsarchiv

Von Archivportal-D

Das Berlin-Brandenburgische Wirtschaftsarchiv e.V. (BBWA) gehört seit 2004 zu den zehn deutschen Regionalen Wirtschaftsarchiven, die unternehmens- und branchenübergreifend agieren. Die Regionalen Wirtschaftsarchive gehören – neben den historischen Archiven in einigen Unternehmen – zu den wichtigen Repositorien für die ökonomische Entwicklungsgeschichte der jeweiligen Region. Kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen und Institutionen besitzen meist kein eigenes Archiv, sondern nutzen das Regionale Wirtschaftsarchiv als Kollektivarchiv. Komplementär zu den öffentlichen Archiven erbringt das BBWA im Berlin-Brandenburger Raum damit seinen ergänzenden Beitrag zum Erhalt des gesamtkulturellen Gedächtnisses der Region und ist mit der Ausrichtung auf zwei Bundesländer einzigartig in Deutschland. In Berlin und im Umland berät das BBWA Unternehmen, Verbände, industriekulturelle Einrichtungen und Wirtschaftsinstitutionen beim Aufbau und der Pflege eigener Archive und übernimmt Aufbau und Betreuung auch unter dem eigenen Dach.

Der Gesamtbestand des BBWA umfasst mehr als 170 Bestände mit privatwirtschaftlichem Archiv- und Sammelgut von Unternehmen, Verbänden und wirtschaftlichen Institutionen sowie Nachlässen von Persönlichkeiten der Wirtschaft aus den Ländern Berlin und Brandenburg. Die Bandbreite der Überlieferung erstreckt sich nicht nur auf die Geschichte der beeindruckenden regionalen Wirtschaftsentwicklung mit ihren Branchen, Betrieben und ihrer Industriekultur, sondern auch auf Quellen für sozial-, regional- oder technikgeschichtliche Fragestellungen, Untersuchungen zur Infrastruktur- oder Verkehrsentwicklung, Erfindungen und Produktneuerungen, Reklame, Fassadengestaltung, Produktdesign, innerbetriebliche Sozialleistungen, Sponsoring und Spenden, Umwelt- und Arbeitsschutz, Arbeits- und Freizeitgestaltung – die Liste ist lang. Dieses Quellenmaterial wird für die Nutzung durch die Öffentlichkeit, die Forschung sowie für Kultur- und Bildungszwecke aufbereitet. Aus den Archivalien wird auch für eigene Projekte und Kooperationen kreatives Potenzial geschöpft und für Podcasts, Industriespaziergänge, Schulkooperationen, Industriekulturabende und vieles mehr ausgewertet.

Gebäudeansicht des BBWA
Gebäudeansicht des BBWA
BBWA/B. Berghausen (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

In (fast) allen Beständen des BBWA kann online auf Findbuch.net recherchiert werden. Bedeutendste Bestände sind die Mitgliedsakten der Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Berlin, der Berliner Handwerkskammer und der Börse Berlin, das Archiv der Berliner Stadtgüter, das Forschungsarchiv Flick, das Holzmann-Bildarchiv und das Circus-Busch-Archiv. Mit fast 85.000 Datensätzen ist das BBWA auf der öffentlichen Plattform Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) vertreten.

Bestandsübersicht des Berlin-Brandenburgisches Wirtschaftsarchiv im Archivportal-D.

Nutzung:

Die Archivalien können nach vorheriger Terminvereinbarung im Lesesaal genutzt werden.

Homepage
Archivspiegel
Das BBWA bei Facebook
Berlin-Brandenburgisches Wirtschaftsarchiv (findbuch.net)

Kontakt:

Björn Berghausen
Berlin-Brandenburgisches Wirtschaftsarchiv e.V.

Eichborndamm 167, Haus 42
13403 Berlin

 

E-Mail: mail [at] bb-wa.de
Tel.: 030 411 90 698
Fax: 030 411 90 699

 

 

 

Loading...